Three Main Categories of Blessings

There are three main categories of blessings:
  1. Enjoyment (birchot nehenin), such as on foods and scents.
  2. Praise and Thanks to God (shevach v'hoda'a), such as when saying she'hecheyanu, on seeing mountains and the sea, or when good happens to us.
  3. Commandments/Mitzvot (birchot mitzva), such as reading the Torah, using the lulav, or lighting Shabbat candles.
Go to Top of Page
Didn't find what you were looking for?
Email Halacha
I just read this halacha, Three Main Categories of Blessings, at I think you will find it very interesting.