Borei Pri Ha'Eitz: Five Special Fruits: Order and Preference

To eat more than one type of the Five Special Fruits:
  • If you have a particular preference, you may eat the fruits in whichever order you prefer.
  • If you have no particular preference, eat them in this order:
    1. Olive
    2. Date
    3. Grape
    4. Fig
    5. Pomegranate.
Note Order of Five Special Fruits
The order for eating the Five Special Fruits comes from Deuteronomy/Devarim 8:8 and follows the fruit's proximity to the two times the word “eretz” is used:
Eretz chita u's'ora v'gefen u't'eina v'rimon, eretz zayit shemen u'dvash.”
A land of wheat and barley and grapevine and fig and pomegranate, a land of olive oil and honey.
Go to Top of Page
Didn't find what you were looking for?
Email Halacha
I just read this halacha, Borei Pri Ha'Eitz: Five Special Fruits: Order and Preference, at I think you will find it very interesting.