Kashrut: Dairy: Chalav Yisrael

Chalav Yisrael is milk or milk products for which the milking was supervised by a religious Jew. Chalav Yisrael applies to milk, cream, and milk solids/dried milk. The only milk derivatives that are not subject to restrictions of chalav Yisrael are whey and cheese. But they must still be kosher.

Note Cooking kosher, non-chalav Yisrael dairy foods does not render the utensil non-kosher, even for someone who only eats chalav Yisrael.


 
Go to Top of Page
Didn't find what you were looking for?
Email Halacha
I just read this halacha, Kashrut: Dairy: Chalav Yisrael, at www.practicalhalacha.com. I think you will find it very interesting.