Modified Non-Kosher

A non-kosher substance becomes kosher once it is modified and no longer has the original taste.
Example Animal bones are burned for charcoal to filter cane sugar from molasses in order to make white sugar.  The bones are not only not non-kosher, they are pareve.
Note Rabbinic supervision is required to ensure that the bones have been completely burned. 
Go to Top of Page
Didn't find what you were looking for?
Email Halacha
I just read this halacha, Modified Non-Kosher , at www.practicalhalacha.com. I think you will find it very interesting.